Voice

[if you want to skip all this blabber there are some preeeetty cool quotes down there! check it]

On the subject of voice, which we discussed today I realized that is probably what makes one of my favourite books my favourite. I’ve been meaning to share this book with the lot of you because I instantly fell in love with it when I started reading it…I’m assuming it was mainly because of the voice. I thought “if I ever wrote a book, this is what it would sound like” I don’t know why I think I’d write in someone else’s voice but I feel like I relate to his somehow..(maybe I’d just want to write like this).I also realized this might be true for another book I am waiting to read by an Author named Jarod Kintz, whom I

found by mistake by read a few quotations from his books and it had the same way about it. Maybe too with Joshua Ferris and the book “And Then We came to the End” ( I say book a lot?)

anyway.. The book is Called “Jitterbug Perfume” by Tom Robbins and I’m going to share some quotes

“One night in bed, Alobar removed Frol’s hands from his waist and lifted them temporarily above the rough blankets. Examining her stubby fingers, he said, “Here is where glassware comes to die.  They fell asleep smiling. It is to erase the fixed smiles of sleeping couples that Satan trained roosters to crow at five in the morning”

“You misunderstand me. I do not fear death. I resent it. Everything must die, apparently, and I am no exception. But I want to be consulted. You know what I mean? Death is impatient and thoughtless. It barges into your room when you are right in the middle of something, and it doesn’t bother to wipe it’s boots. I have a new passion, my darlings, a passion for being myself, and for being more than previously has been manifested for a single lifetime. I am determined to die at my own convenience. Therefore, I journey to the east, where, I have been told, there are men who have taught death some manners”

“Rope. The gods have a great sense of humor, don’t they? If you lack the iron and the fizz to take control of your own life, if you insist on leaving your fate to the gods, then the gods will repay your weakness by having a grin or two at your expense. Should you fail to pilot your own ship, don’t be surprised at what inappropriate port you find yourself docked”

“In those days, boats were only as noisy as the winds that drove them, and there were no sailors in the Himalayas, of course; there not even leafy trees that could unfurl flotillas of little sails, as green as mermaids’ curtains. Himalayan winds blew snowflakes, about, and grass seed and panda hairs and the serious, droning vowels of lamas”

Okay, those were some long ones so that’s it.. I also came across a small problem re reading a few chapters early this fall, I think that he does seem to use a lot  of “zingers”  But I think it kind of works for this..

Voice also got me thinking about the lyrics artists write. My all time loved artist -Regina Spektor.. definitely has written voice. I would highly suggest you take a look at her discography and all her unreleased tracks (found on youtube)…It’s really in your best interest.. I Swear. Her lyrics (and singing) have such quirk. They most all tell little stories she’s made up and are filled with so much imagery and relate ability.

Here are two sets of lyrics from different songs that hold really strong Imagery for me (oops some how changed topics to imagery now..)

“Someone’s deciding whether or not to steal
He opens the window just to feel the chill
He hears that outside a small boy just starting to cry
‘Cause it’s his turn but his brother won’t let him try”

Am I crazy or is this a concrete image? I feel like she perfectly captures a childhood sibling rivalry. With all the innocence in the greediness that children can so often posses (Im not sure that sentence made sense..)

Here is another one

“Oh I cut his hair myself one night
A pair of dull scissors in the yellow light
And he told me that I’d done alright
And kissed me ’til the mornin’ light, the mornin’ light”

This one too! I think is very romantic, which seems to confuse a lot of people. But she creates such a simple image in it.

WELP. Not exactly sure what the point of the post was except to share some (in my opinion) nice writing. Really check out those Authors I suggest and check out Regina Spektor. She does some pretty weird sounding stuff sometimes, so not everyone takes a liking right away but its worth it! Or just look at her lyrics. I swear on all that is holy, and my mother, and my brother, and my aunt and my uncle that it’s so worth it.

Over and out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

